Philosophy Major

In addition to the general requirements for the B.A. degree, a major in philosophy may be secured by successfully completing 33 credit hours in philosophy, of which at least 21 hours must be in upper division courses.

The department requires the following courses for all philosophy majors: Critical Reasoning (1210) or Symbolic Logic (2010), and Introduction to Ethics (2030).

The following upper division courses are required: History of Ancient Philosophy (3110), History of Modern Philosophy (PHIL 3130, which is the third writing course), Theory of Knowledge (3600), Metaphysics (3700), Ethical Theory (3050), Advanced Philosophy Writing Seminar (4000).

Recommended for students going to philosophy graduate school: Symbolic Logic (PHIL 2010) (strongly), Philosophy of Language (PHIL 3610), and Philosophy of Mind (PHIL 3650).

Recommended for students going to law school or business school: Symbolic Logic (PHIL 2010) and Social Philosophy (PHIL 3210).