The Department of Psychology offers the Bachelor of Arts and the Bachelor of Science degrees. The Psychology course requirements are identical in these two degree programs, emphasizing training and hands-on experience in the research process centered on a four-course sequence capped by a laboratory in one of six areas of Psychology: learning, cognition, development, sensation and perception, behavioral neuroscience, or animal behavior. The B.A. and B.S. degree programs differ in additional course requirements, as described below. Both programs prepare the student for graduate study in Psychology.


Psychology majors may declare a concentration in any one of the following seven areas: Cognitive Science, Developmental Psychology, Forensic Psychology, Industrial/Organizational Psychology, Mental Health, Neuroscience and Behavior, and School Psychology. Each concentration is a minimum of 12 credit hours.  A concentration is optional, and only one concentration may be declared.


Degrees Offered

Bachelor of Arts in Psychology      

Bachelor of Science in Psychology


Minors Offered

Psychology Minor


Other information

All coursework taken for the Psychology major or minor must be completed with a grade of “C-“ or better.  

Permission of the Department must be obtained to substitute another course for one in which a grade of less than “C-” is earned.

For psychology courses that are cross-listed with another discipline, only one course per discipline may count toward the cross-listed discipline and the Psychology major or minor.

Students who come from community colleges with psychology courses that are taught at the upper division level here:  The courses will count toward the Psychology major, but will not count toward the 27 credit upper division psychology requirement

One of the required non-Psychology courses for the B.S. degree may be taken CR/NC.


Arts and Sciences Hall, Room 347




    Student Groups

Psi Chi - National Honor Society in Psychology

Nu Rho Psi – National Honor Society in Neuroscience